What are the 7 stews of Holy Week in Venezuela?

What are the 7 Easter meats?

Meats. Meat is the main abstinence food, covering both red meat (beef, veal, mutton) and white meat (kid, lamb, pork) and game.

What day should the seven stews be made?

“The Seven Potajes” is a tradition during Holy Week, in the Andes Region of Venezuela, in the States of Táchira, Mérida, Trujillo, which is nothing more than serving at noon on Holy Thursday, in a family and close gathering, seven dishes of different meals between vegetables, fish, sweets, a whole…

What are the seven delicacies?

These “seven courses”, as they are also called, consist of “soup, rice, fish, macaroni, salad (carrots, onions, lettuce, beets), cake and sweets. Many see it as a space for union and brotherhood. For the most religious, it is a way to commemorate the “last supper of Jesus”.

Why are the 7 meals made?

They are foods that are generally not eaten for most of the year. They symbolize the seven days of the week and the seven temples that, according to Catholic tradition, parishioners should visit.

What is a typical or traditional food?

Gastronomy or traditional cuisine is defined as the entire culinary tradition (that is, culinary techniques, production, processing and consumption of food and beverages, and culinary preparations) that are transmitted from mothers and fathers to daughters and sons in the context of a culture and a certain land, in which it has …

What are the 7 potassium?

Some more knowledgeable about the subject explain that the seven stews must contain: soup, rice, fish, macaroni, salad, cake and sweet.

What are the traditions that are celebrated at Easter?

Not using sharp objects or not bathing on the beach are some of the old beliefs that were practiced long before in Venezuela during Holy Week. Another of the best known is not to eat red meat Thursday and Good Friday, this in consideration of the fact that Friday is the day of Jesus’ death.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.